Partner Channels

The Definitive Source of Information on the Following Subjects:

Building Automation | Building Envelope | Commercial Roofing | Cooling
Energy Measurement | LED Lighting | Lighting Control | Site Furnishings

BetterBricks 2010 Puget Sound Awards

Written by Heidi Schwartz. Posted in Energy, Environment, Professional Development

Tagged: , , , ,

Published on May 12, 2010 with No Comments

The 2010 Puget Sound BetterBricks Awards reception honored 11 green building professionals at the Seattle Art Museum’s Olympic Sculpture Park on March 25, 2010.

The BetterBricks Awards recognize architects, engineers, developers, building owners, building operators, facility managers, and other building professionals for their support of high performance commercial buildings in the Northwest with a special emphasis on energy efficiency. BetterBricks is the commercial building initiative of the Northwest Energy Efficiency Alliance (NEEA), which is supported by Northwest electric utilities. Through the BetterBricks initiative, NEEA advocates for changes to energy related business practices in Northwest buildings.

In the Facility Manager/Building Operations Category, the winner was the Seattle, WA-based Unico Properties energy management team, Clarence Clipper, Brett Phillips and Mike Bedsworth.

Finalists in this category were: Mike Anderson, buildings and grounds manager, Bellingham School District; and Earl Wayman, senior property manager, GVA Kidder Matthews.

Winners of the 2010 Puget Sound BetterBricks Awards

Winners of the 2010 Puget Sound BetterBricks Awards

To achieve high performance buildings, award winners have used and promoted best practices such as maximizing local climate in the design, employing early design decision making and energy modeling, supporting building commissioning, and implementing better building operations. Their projects have achieved substantial energy savings, reduced building operation and maintenance costs, and enhanced productivity of building occupants.

The other winners and finalists of the 2010 Puget Sound BetterBricks Awards



  • Winner:  Margaret Montgomery, NBBJ
  • Finalist:  Chris Flint Chatto, ZGF Architects

Design Engineer

  • Winner: Tom Marseille, Stantec Consulting Services, Inc.
  • Finalist: Peter Alspach, Arup

Multi-Disciplinary Team

  • Winner: NetRiver Phase II Expansion Team – Paul Harris & Adam Vierra, NetRiver; Dave Mackenzie,  Design Real Estate; Neil Bavins & Al Thompson, Puget Sound Refrigeration; Randy Valerio, D. Hittle & Associates; Todd Brunner, Brunner Construction


  • Winner: Kevin Brown, Swedish Medical Center


  • Winner: A-P Hurd, Touchstone Corporation

Service Contractor

  • Winner: Danny Miller, Performance Mechanical

About Heidi Schwartz

Heidi Schwartz

Schwartz joined Group C Media in April 1989 as managing editor of Today's Facility Manager (TFM) magazine (formerly Business Interiors) where she was subsequently promoted to editor/co-publisher of the monthly trade magazine for facility management professionals. In September 2012, she took over the newly created position of internet director for TFM's parent company, Group C Media, where she is charged with developing content and creating online strategies for TFM and its sister publication, Business Facilities. Schwartz can be reached at

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

There are currently no comments on BetterBricks 2010 Puget Sound Awards. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment