Partner Channels

The Definitive Source of Information on the Following Subjects:

Building Automation | Building Envelope | Commercial Roofing | Cooling
Energy Measurement | LED Lighting | Lighting Control | Site Furnishings

2010 Edition Of NFPA 1600 Released

Written by Heidi Schwartz. Posted in Safety

Tagged: , , , ,

Published on April 07, 2010 with No Comments

The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) recently released the 2010 Edition of NFPA 1600®, Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs. This new edition of NFPA 1600 is a revised and reorganized version that includes major changes to the technical requirements and definitions. The chapter on Program Elements now contains four different chapters:  Planning, Implementation, Testing and Exercises, and Program Improvement.

“Disasters and emergencies are so unpredictable that organizations must always be prepared to manage them before they occur,” said James M. Shannon, president and CEO of NFPA. “Organizations keep turning to NFPA 1600 because it helps them develop the best possible strategy for dealing with unforeseen issues.”

NFPA 1600 establishes a common, high level set of criteria for disaster and emergency management and business continuity programs to develop, implement, assess, and maintain these programs. The programs address management, planning, prevention, mitigation, implementation, response, recovery, testing and improvement.

The standard began in 1991 when NFPA’s Standards Council established the Disaster Management Committee to develop a preparedness standard that recognized the crucial components of a comprehensive plan to be used by a wide variety of organizations and businesses. The plan was designed to address preparations for, responses to, and recovery from disasters resulting from natural, human or technological events.

NFPA 1600 establishes a common set of criteria for disaster/emergency management and business continuity programs.

NFPA 1600 establishes a common set of criteria for disaster/emergency management and business continuity programs.

NFPA 1600 has been adopted by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) as the national preparedness standard. Under the provisions of the Support Anti-Terrorism by Fostering Effective Technologies Act of 2002 (SAFETY Act), DHS has designated NFPA 1600 as a “Qualified Anti-Terrorism Technology” (QATT) and certified it as an “Approved Product for Homeland Security.” NFPA 1600, Standard on Disaster/Emergency Management and Business Continuity Programs has also been designated for adoption under the Department of Homeland Security’s (DHS) Voluntary Private Sector Preparedness Accreditation and Certification Program (PS-Prep).

The 52-page 2010 Edition of NFPA 1600® is available for download here at no charge on NFPA’s Web site. Printed copies can be ordered through NFPA’s online catalog.

About Heidi Schwartz

Heidi Schwartz

Schwartz joined Group C Media in April 1989 as managing editor of Today's Facility Manager (TFM) magazine (formerly Business Interiors) where she was subsequently promoted to editor/co-publisher of the monthly trade magazine for facility management professionals. In September 2012, she took over the newly created position of internet director for TFM's parent company, Group C Media, where she is charged with developing content and creating online strategies for TFM and its sister publication, Business Facilities. Schwartz can be reached at

Browse Archived Articles by

No Comments

There are currently no comments on 2010 Edition Of NFPA 1600 Released. Perhaps you would like to add one of your own?

Leave a Comment